Trying to be a Minimalist

As the title goes, I am trying to be a Minimalist.

There is no clear-cut definition to become a Minimalist. It doesn’t mean throwing away everything you own or having nothing hanging on the walls or walls MUST be painted white, and the list goes on.

For years, I have been decluttering my room. I am blessed to have a roof over my head for almost 2 decades now and when I first moved into the present house, I remembered my bedroom was like a warehouse. There were about 6 to 8 boxes of STUFF. I spent a considerable amount of time (years) discarding stuff from my room and hesitating if I should throw them away or keep it just in case I needed it. It doesn’t help that when I returned from Japan after a year, I brought back 12 boxes more. The reason that it took me this long to “clean” is because I kept on bringing and introducing new items to my room the moment I have space. Perhaps growing up poor meant that whenever I have the opportunity to buy the things I wanted, I will buy as I may loose that chance of buying.

While I am still feeling unsatisfied with how much clutter my room has, it had definitely been better. I am at this stage where if I want to buy things for my room, I would need to visualize where this item is going to my room. If I can’t find a place for it, then I know that item would just become the next clutter. Temptations to buy doesn’t always disappear and there are times where I just buy for the sake of buying. I had read Kondo Marie’s book titled “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing” to come to understand that in the process of decluttering, you keep things that make you happy. How I wished I knew this back then.

Lately, I have been watching videos on YouTube on the concept of ‘Minimalism’, house tours, decluttering makeup and just videos of reducing waste that it got me inspired to become a Minimalist. I think another turning point for me to become as such has to do with the number of wants I would love but also realizing that there are opportunity costs with what I do with money. I have taken money for granted far too long to realize that I really want isn’t many materials, but more experiences. I mean, of course, you can’t skimp on everything for sake of financial savings because that wouldn’t be too realistic.

The present mission is, of course, to apply the ‘KonMari’ method of reducing more clutter and ultimately, a room without boxes.

One thought on “Trying to be a Minimalist

Leave a Reply

